Talisman Enchanted Expansion V3.0

This is a fanmade expansion for Talisman 5th Edition. Only the Base game is required to use
this expansion. As of now this expansion is in version 3.0, and will be updated over time (See
“‘Roadmap” below). Some card changes may be made in the future, but as of now this is
considered the “Final version” of the expansion.

Optionally, players may use a timecard to add day/night mechanics to the game. For further
instruction on this, refer to the “Day and Night” expansion in my Google Drive (Links below)

ngpgngntg:

e 21 Adventure cards

e 28 Weapon Enchantment cards

e 20 Armour Enchantment cards

e 4 Bonus enchantments when playing with a timecard

Setup:
e Remove the Enchanter from your adventure deck.

e Shuffle the 21 new Adventure cards into the Adventure deck.
e Shuffle the Weapon Enchantment deck and place it face down to the side of the board.
e Shuffle the Armour Enchantment deck and place it face down to the side of the board.

Enchanting:
e Select a Weapon or Armour you wish to Enchant, then discard 1 Spell to draw an

Enchantment to add to that object (Draw from the corresponding enchantment deck).
Overlap the Weapon/Armour onto the Enchantment so both text-boxes are visible.

e Objects can be Enchanted up to 3 times, with each subsequent Enchantment costing 1
addition Spell (a 2nd Enchantment costs 2 Spells, a 3rd Enchantment costs 3 spells).

e Enchanting an object using spells is considered casting a spell, and as such the action
can be countered. If a player is countered when enchanting, they must discard the spells
they were using to enchant with.

Enchanted Objects are considered Magic Objects.

Enchantments remain attached to an Object even when it’s stolen or dropped. When an
object is discarded, any Enchantments are removed from it and placed in their
corresponding discard pile.

e Enchantments cannot be removed from an Object unless specifically told to.

When you can Enchant:
e Players can enchant their objects at the start of their turn before they move, or at the end

of their turn before play passes to the next player.
o Sometimes a card effect will allow a player to enchant outside of these two
windows
e Players cannot enchant if they’d be otherwise unable to cast spells. This includes (But is
not limited to) when players are on the Cursed Glade, a player has the Amulet, the Spell



“Destroy Magic” is currently active, or when a player has already cast their maximum
amount of spells for their turn.

e When an adventure card says you gain an enchantment, you may select any of your
objects to add an enchantment to (So long as that you don’t exceed 3).
o When an adventure card says to add an enchantment, you must add the
enchantment to the object specified by the adventure card.

Trinkets:
e An object with the keyword Trinket doesn’t count towards your carry limit.

Clarifications:

e Only Weapons and Armour can be enchanted, no other object can.

e Enchantments are not considered spells, and do not count towards a player’s spell limit.

e When an effect is applied to “combat”, that means either Battle or Psychic Combat.

o For example, if a sword has an Enchantment that says "Add 1 to your

Strength/Craft in combat”, you can bring it to either or. In battles, you'd gain 2
Strength (1 from the Sword, 1 from the Enchant), while if you brought it into
Psychic Combat, you'd gain only 1 Craft (from the Enchant)

e Unless otherwise specified, an Enchantment’s effects only activate when they’re brought

into combat.

e Like spells, when no Enchantments remain in their deck, shuffle the discard pile to
become a new deck.

Printing:
e These cards were designed to be printed as Standard American Sized cards (55.9mm x
87.1mm).

e The cards from the Zip file are 600dpi and have bleed edges to accommodate printing
with websites such as MakePlayingCards.

Roadmap:

[Complete!]

hemebrewers [Complete!]
e Beyond: As more expansions for 5th edition release, there may be more opportunities to

add additional Enchantments. I'm also toying around with the idea of Modifying the

Enchantress NPC to play off the expansion, as well as possibly adding a new character.

Changelog:
e V20
o Added 22 Armour Enchantments (20 main enchants, 2 bonus enchants)

o Added a section in the Rules specifying timings on when players are allowed to
Enchant.



o O O O

Updated the text of Nitro Infusion to include a clarification.
Updated the text of Time Dilation to include a clarification.
Updated the FAQ to include more questions.

Added 20 adventure cards, and 1 replacement card (Enchanter)
Added a new ruling, allowing Counterspell to prevent a player from enchanting.
Changed the effect of Frost Infusion.

m Before: “When you defeat another player and choose to take their life,
they also lose 1 turn”

m  Now: “Upon entering battle, you may discard this enchantment. If you do,
your opponent is afflicted with frostbite and cannot roll an attack die (This
effect does not work on dragons or the Elder Dragon).”

Grave thirst now works upon gaining an enemy trophy. In addition, it's specified
that all life tokens must be removed when using its effect.

Heavyweight can be used with 5 strength (Instead of 6)

Levitation now turns your weapon into a Trinket.

Changed the effect of Poison Infusion.

m Before: “If you defeat a character who isn’t using armour, they lose 1 life
before you claim your reward”

m  Now: “If your opponent isn’t using armour, they must roll 2 dice and use
the lower result during this combat (This effect doesn’t work on spirits or
constructs).”

Shackled now adds 2 strength/craft instead of 1.

Storm infusion now uses the word “Opponent” instead of “Character’
Time Dilation now only activates during your turn.

Slightly changed the effect of Fate Defiance.

m Before: “If you would roll a 1 for your armour roll, you are protected”

m  Now: “If you would roll a 1 for your armour roll, you may change the result
toa6.”

Changed the effect of Invoke Fate.

m Before: “When you are defeated in combat, gain 1 fate”

m  Now: “Upon bringing this armour into combat, if you have no fate, gain 1
fate.”

Added extra text for Lightweight: “You may hurf this armour at your opponent
during battle. If you do, add 1 to your Strength, but you must drop the armour.”
Added text to Thorns to include a clarification.

Adjusted the text on Phoenix Sigil so it works with 5th editions' new rules about
death.

Changed the effect of Talisman Sigil.

m Before: “You may add 1 to your armour rolls for each Talisman you
possess. You may enter the Valley of Fire without a Talisman. Upon doing
so, you lose 1 life.”



= Now: “You may add 1 to your armour rolls when you possess a Talisman.
You may discard this enchantment to enter the Valley of Fire without a
Talisman. If you do, lose 1 life.
o Added a clarification to Transmutation.

Links:

To check on the latest updates for this homebrew, you can go to my Google Drive here:
https://drive.google.com/drive/u/1/folders/10jvYEBV87wWTFw_ZOdhwDE8ualhCzNzHJ
Or you can check my forum post on BoardGameGeeks here:
https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/3304918/homebrew-weapon-enchantments

Ruling FAQs:

(Newly added questions are italicized)

General Rules:
e “Aplayer can’t enchant if they’d already cast their maximum amount of spells that turn”
What does this mean exactly?

o Players can only cast Spells equal to their spell limit in a single turn. For
example, the Assassin (with a craft of 3) casts a Spell, then gains a new spell
thanks to the Magic Wand she’s carrying. She cannot cast this new spell because
her spell limit is 1, meaning only 1 spell can be cast per turn. This also means
she cannot use this new spell to Enchant, since she’s unable to cast spells at this
time.

e Does an Enchanted object work while I'm in the Cursed Glade?

o No. Since they're considered magic objects, they cannot be brought into combat
there.

e Can creatures in the Inner region be affected by Enchantments?

o Yes. Enchantments aren’t considered spells, so they will work.

e [fanother player uses counterspell against me when I'm enchanting, can | cast one of
the spells | was using in response.

o No. Once you select any spells to enchant with, you cannot cast them as normal
spells.

Adventure cards:
e Can the Animated Armour and Animated Sword be automatically destroyed with the Holy
Symbol?
o Yes. The Priest’s ability too.
e Does the Darkling’s craft increase permanently when it absorbs magic?
o No. The boost only lasts until affer combat.
e When using the Enchanter’s Pendant, can you sell it to the Enchantress after gaining 1
enchantment from her?
o Yes.
e When trading in the Opalescent Serpent for craft, do you also gain 1 enchantment?
o No. You must choose one or the other.


https://drive.google.com/drive/u/1/folders/1ojvYEBV87wTFw_ZOdhwDE8ua1hCzNzHJ
https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/3304918/homebrew-weapon-enchantments

e Can you discard the Prismatic Shard in the city to gain both 1 enchantment and 3 gold?
o No. You must choose one or the other.
e [fthe Radiant Glow event causes an object to overload, do you discard just the object’s
enchantments, or the object itself?
o You discard the object and all enchantments it had.
e When rolling for Sword in the Stone, what happens if there’s no Sword in the purchase
deck?
o Nothing happens. The place remains on the board whether you succeed or fail.

Weapon Enchantments:
e Does the Werewolf mentioned on “Beast’s Bane” apply to the Werewolf in the inner

region, or the Werewolf figure from Blood Moon?

o Both. The Blood Moon Werewolf doesn’t exist in 5th Edition at this time, so this
card is only referring to the Inner region Werewolf. BUT, if you're using this
Expansion in 4th edition, or the Werewolf figure is added to 5th Edition, then yes
the Enchantment will work on it.

e |[f | defeat a Character using “Blink”, but it's not my turn, can | still teleport?

o Yes. You just wouldn’t encounter the space since it isn’t your turn.

e If | defeat a Character using “Blink” while in the Inner Region, can | teleport to the Crown
of Command?

o Yes.

e |If | defeat the Werewolf or a Pit Fiend with “Blink”, can | teleport to the Crown of
Command?
o No. Blink only would work on Enemies (Adventure cards with the “Enemy” label).
e When “Chaos Infusion” instructs me to discard an Enchantment, can | discard “Chaos
Infusion™?
o Yes
e [f “Chaos Infusion” adds an enchantment that would normally prevent me from using my
weapon (Such as “Heavyweight”), what happens?

o You’d treat the combat as if you never brought the Weapon.

e If“Chaos Infusion” adds the enchantment “Frost Infusion”, can | use its effect right
away?

o Yes. You’d discard it as normal, before rolling for your attack. Though you must
still follow Chaos Infusion’s instruction by discarding another enchantment after
combat.

e [f“Chaos Infusion” adds “Levitation” to my weapon, can | select another weapon to use
right away?

o Yes.

e Does “Deathtouch” work on the Pit Fiends?
o Yes.

e |[f | defeat an Enemy with “Deathtouch”, can | take it as a trophy?
o Yes.

e Does “Equalize” activate while a follower is buffing your opponent, such as the Maiden
adding 2 craft?



o No. The follower must specifically be joining in combat only. Such as the
Mercenary, or the Ghoul’s raised dead.

When a weapon with “Grave Thirst” is ditched or stolen, do the life tokens attached to it
get removed?

o No.
When activating the effect of “Grave Thirst” do you have to remove every life counter, or
can you choose how many?

o You must remove all of them.
Since “Heavyweight” adds 1 Strength, do | only need 4 Strength to use it?

o No, you need 5th Strength before you select the Weapon
If the Warrior has “Levitation”, does that mean she can bring 3 weapons in battle?

o Yes.
While using “Midas Touch”, If you obtain an object after fighting an Enemy, does it turn to
gold?

o No. Only objects you obtain directly as a reward for fighting, such as when you

defeat another player and take an object from them.

While using “Midas Touch”, if you defeat an enemy with enough trophy points to level up,
can | immediately trade it in before it turns to gold?

o No. They’d still be considered a trophy, so they become gold.
If | use “Poison Infusion” against the Warrior, which effect takes priority?

o Yours. The Warrior rolls 2 dice and uses the lower result.
While using “Shackled”, can | use fate to move more than one space?

o No.
While using “Time dilation”, can you continue defeating enemies to get more and more
turns?

o Yes.

Armour Enhancements-

While using “Immunity”, and my opponent casts Psionic Blast, does it work?

o Yes. Psionic Blast would affect your opponent, not yourself.

While using “Immunity”, can the Warrior use two weapons against me?

o Yes. That ability does not directly affect you, rather the Warrior.
While using “Immunity”, can the Assassin assassinate me?

o No. Since assassination directly affects your ability to fight, you are immune.
While using “Slime Coating”, do | have to take my opponent’s weapon, even if | don’t
want it?

o Yes. If you cannot carry it, it gets dropped.

Can I bring “Spell Forge” into combat even if the armour normally couldn’t protect me?

o Yes.

If another character attacks me while | have “Thorns”, does it affect them?

o Yes. Thorns doesn't care who starts the battle.

Art Credits:
Note: Links may not lead to the art’s original source, just the location where | found it.



Adventure cards:

Animated Armour: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/291819250870997466/
Animated Sword: Al generated

Archmage: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/449023025359424830/

Darkling: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/291819250870989203/

Enchanter: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/3518505953690738/
Enchanter’s Pendant:
https://www.freepik.com/premium-ai-image/necklace-with-chain-that-says-rainbow-it_735
86087.htm

Enchantment Table: Al generated

Ivory Dragon: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/139963500914302881/

Night Market: Al generated

Novice Enchantress: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/572590540144000445/
Opalescent Serpent: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/291819250870998585/

Prism Edge: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/291819250870987 134/
Prism Helm: Al generated

Prism Scepter: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/26880929019800672/
Prismatic Golem: Al generated

Prismatic Shard: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/291819250870995675/
Radiant Ember: Al generated

Radiant Glow: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/140806232898494/

Sword in the Stone: Al generated

Weapon Enchantments:
These Sigils were all found on Pintrest. | can’t be certain of how original these works are, as I'm

pretty sure many are reuploads from elsewhere. | will be linking the collections | found them in
though.

https://www.pinterest.com/nhienha261/pathw
https://www.pinterest.com/nhienha261/prayer/
https://www.pinterest.com/androwrites18/_cr
https://www.pinterest.com/pin/810648001686916168/
https://www.pinterest.com/pin/1092685928319781816/

Armour Enchantments:

The magic circles used were mostly found on Pintrest, but were often edited with added
backgrounds and color adjustments.

Camouflage: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/291819250870432920/
Sun Sigil: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/291819250870439812/
Spell Forge: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/291819250870437196/
Moon Sigil: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/291819250870439810/
Lightweight: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/291819250870420136/

Psychic Link: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/291819250870431908/
Boreal Sigil: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/291819250870419594/



https://www.pinterest.com/pin/291819250870997466/
https://www.pinterest.com/pin/449023025359424830/
https://www.pinterest.com/pin/291819250870989203/
https://www.pinterest.com/pin/139963500914302881/
https://www.pinterest.com/pin/291819250870998585/
https://www.pinterest.com/pin/291819250870987134/
https://www.pinterest.com/pin/26880929019800672/
https://www.pinterest.com/pin/291819250870995675/
https://www.pinterest.com/pin/140806232898494/
https://www.pinterest.com/nhienha261/pathways/
https://www.pinterest.com/nhienha261/prayer/
https://www.pinterest.com/androwrites18/_created/
https://www.pinterest.com/pin/810648001686916168/
https://www.pinterest.com/pin/1092685928319781816/
https://www.pinterest.com/pin/291819250870432920/
https://www.pinterest.com/pin/291819250870439812/
https://www.pinterest.com/pin/291819250870437196/
https://www.pinterest.com/pin/291819250870439810/
https://www.pinterest.com/pin/291819250870420136/
https://www.pinterest.com/pin/291819250870431908/
https://www.pinterest.com/pin/291819250870419594/

Transmutation: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/291819250870419584/
Zen sigil: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/320037117280590054/

Stygian sigil: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/543317142560115066/
Bewitched: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/727120302356838575/

Empowered: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/727120302356838113/
Diamondized: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/41587996553253590/
Divine sigil: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/36943659437088062/
Invoke fate: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/344525440234881938/

Thorns: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/351912462908143/
Some images | failed to save, and will be added in a later version if found again.

Card Backs:
Both decks use the same card back, but the Weapons deck was modified with a different
symbol.

e https://www.deviantart.com/gameliberty/art/Fantasy-Card-Back-2-664861642


https://www.pinterest.com/pin/291819250870419584/
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https://www.pinterest.com/pin/543317142560115066/
https://www.pinterest.com/pin/727120302356838575/
https://www.pinterest.com/pin/727120302356838113/
https://www.pinterest.com/pin/41587996553253590/
https://www.pinterest.com/pin/36943659437088062/
https://www.pinterest.com/pin/344525440234881938/
https://www.pinterest.com/pin/351912462908143/
https://www.deviantart.com/gameliberty/art/Fantasy-Card-Back-2-664861642

