Talisman: Enchantments V2.0

This is a fanmade expansion for Talisman 5th Edition. Only the Base game is required to use
this expansion. As of now this expansion is in version 2.0, and will be updated over time (See
“‘Roadmap” below). All cards in this expansion are designed to be used in the final version, but
some changes may occur between version releases.

Components:
e 28 Weapon Enchantment cards

e 20 Armour Enchantment cards
e 4 Bonus cards (See “Bonus Enchantments” below)

Setup:
e Shuffle the Weapon Enchantment deck and place it face down to the side of the board.

e Shuffle the Armour Enchantment deck and place it face down to the side of the board.

Enchanting:
e Select a Weapon or Armour you wish to Enchant, then discard 1 Spell to draw an

Enchantment to add to that object (Draw from the corresponding enchantment deck).
Overlap the Weapon/Armour onto the Enchantment so both text-boxes are visible.

e Objects can be Enchanted up to 3 times, with each subsequent Enchantment costing 1
addition Spell (a 2nd Enchantment costs 2 Spells, a 3rd Enchantment costs 3 spells).
Enchanted Objects are considered Magic Obijects.

Enchantments remain attached to an Object even when it’s stolen or ditched. When
discarded, Enchantments are removed and placed in their own discard pile.

e Enchantments cannot be removed from an Object unless specifically told to.

When you can Enchant:
e Players can enchant their objects at the start of their turn before they move, or at the end

of their turn before play passes to the next player.
o Sometimes a card effect will allow a player to enchant outside of these two
windows
e Players cannot enchant if they’d be otherwise unable to cast spells. This includes (But is
not limited to) when players are on the Cursed Glade, a player has the Amulet, the Spell
“Destroy Magic” is currently active, or when a player has already cast their maximum
amount of spells for their turn.

Clarifications:
e Only Weapons and Armour can be enchanted, no other object can.
e Enchantments are not considered spells, and do not count towards a player’s spell limit.
e When an effect is applied to “combat”, that means either Battle or Psychic Combat.
o For example, if a sword has an Enchantment that says "Gain 1 Strength/Craft in
combat", you can bring it to either or. In battles, you'd gain 2 Strength (1 from the



Sword, 1 from the Enchant), while if you brought it into Psychic Combat, you'd
gain only 1 Craft (from the Enchant)
e Unless otherwise specified, an Enchantment’s effects only activate when they’re brought
into combat.
e Like spells, when no Enchantments remain in the deck, shuffle the discard pile to
become a new deck.

Bonus Enchantments:
e The enchantments Solar Essence, Lunar Essence, Sun Sigil, and Moon Sigil were
designed to be played with the Time Card (Originally introduced in 4th Edition’s Blood
Moon Expansion). Only include these Enchantments if you choose to play with the Time
Card.

Printing:

e These cards were designed to be printed as Poker Sized cards (63 x 88mm). | am
uncertain if these are the actual sizes of 5th Edition cards. Seeing as these cards will be
used in their own deck, the exact size doesn’t really matter. But if it's revealed | got the
size wrong, a second batch with the correct dimensions will be made (And from that
point on, both sizes will be supported for those who choose to print Poker sized)

e The cards from the Zip file are 600dpi and have bleed edges to accommodate printing
with websites such as MakePlayingCards.

4th Edition Compatibility:
e There’s nothing stopping these cards from being incorporated into 4th Edition, since 5th

Edition is so mechanically similar. Though when printing you may wish to resize them to
match the dimensions of 4th edition.

e The only text discrepancy that you'll find is on the “Dragon’s Bane” Enchantment. Since
there is no Elder Dragon in 4th edition, you can change this text to say “Dragon King”
from the Dragon’s Expansion.

Roadmap:

e V3.0: Will add cards to the adventure/spell deck that play off of the new Enchantment
decks. These won’t be added until templates for 5th edition cards are made available for
homebrewers

e Beyond: As more expansions for 5th edition release, there may be more opportunities to
add additional Enchantments. I'm also toying around with the idea of Modifying the
Enchantress NPC to play off the expansion. But all this comes after everything else.

Changelog:
e V20
o Added 22 Armour Enchantments (20 main enchants, 2 bonus enchants)



Links:

Added a section in the Rules specifying timings on when players are allowed to
Enchant.

Updated the text of Nitro Infusion to include a clarification.

Updated the text of Time Dilation to include a clarification.

Updated the FAQ to include more questions.

To check on the latest updates for this homebrew, you can go to my Google Drive here:

https://drive.google.com/drive/u/1/folders/10jvYEBV87wTFw_ZOdhwDE8ualhCzNzHJ
Or you can check my forum post on BoardGameGeeks here:

https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/3304918/homebrew-weapon-enchantments

Ruling FAQs:

(Newly added questions are italicized)

General Rules:
e “A player can’t enchant if they’d already cast their maximum amount of spells that turn”
What does this mean exactly?

o

Players can only cast Spells equal to their spell limit in a single turn. For
example, the Assassin (with a craft of 3) casts a Spell, then gains a new spell
thanks to the Magic Wand she’s carrying. She cannot cast this new spell
because her spell limit is 1, meaning only 1 spell can be cast per turn. This also
means she cannot use this new spell to Enchant, since she’s unable to cast
spells at this time.

e Does an Enchanted object work while I'm in the Cursed Glade?

o

No. Since they’re considered magic objects, they cannot be brought into combat
there.

Weapon Enchantments:
e Does the Werewolf mentioned on “Beast’s Bane” apply to the Werewolf in the inner

region, or the Werewolf figure from Blood Moon?

o

Both. The Blood Moon Werewolf doesn’t exist in 5th Edition at this time, so this
card is only referring to the Inner region Werewolf. BUT, if you’re using this
Expansion in 4th edition, or the Werewolf figure is added to 5th Edition, then yes
the Enchantment will work on it.\

e [f | defeat a Character using “Blink”, but it’s not my turn, can | still teleport?

o

Yes. You just wouldn’t encounter the space since it isn’t your turn.

e [f | defeat a Character using “Blink” while in the Inner Region, can | teleport to the Crown
of Command?

o

Yes.

e [f | defeat the Werewolf or a Pit Fiend with “Blink”, can | teleport to the Crown of
Command?

o

No. Blink only would work on Enemies (Adventure cards with the “Enemy” label).


https://drive.google.com/drive/u/1/folders/1ojvYEBV87wTFw_ZOdhwDE8ua1hCzNzHJ
https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/3304918/homebrew-weapon-enchantments

When “Chaos Infusion” instructs me to discard an Enchantment, can | discard “Chaos
Infusion”?

o Yes
Does “Deathtouch” work on the Pit Fiends?

o Yes.
If | defeat an Enemy with “Deathtouch”, can | take it as a trophy?

o Yes.
Does “Equalize” activate while a follower is buffing your opponent, such as the Maiden
adding 2 craft?

o No. The follower must specifically be joining in combat only. Such as the

Mercenary, or the Ghoul’s raised dead.

When a weapon with “Grave Thirst” is ditched or stolen, do the life tokens attached to it
get removed?

o No.
Since “Heavyweight” adds 1 Strength, do | only need 5 Strength to use it?

o No, you need 6th Strength before you select the Weapon
If the Warrior has “Levitation”, does that mean she can bring 3 weapons in battle?

o Yes.
While using “Midas Touch”, If you obtain an object after fighting an Enemy, does it turn to
gold?

o No. Only objects you obtain directly as a reward for fighting, such as when you

defeat another player and take an object from them.

While using “Midas Touch”, if you defeat an enemy with enough trophy points to level up,
can | immediately trade it in before it turns to gold?

o No. They'd still be considered a trophy, so they become gold.
While using “Nitro Infusion”, if you roll a 2nd six after you rolled your 1st six, do you roll
another die?

o No. The effect only triggers once.
While using “Shackled”, can | use fate to move more than one space?

o No.
While using “Time dilation”, can you continue defeating enemies to get more and more
turns?

o Yes.

Armour Enhancements-

While using “Immunity”, and my opponent casts Psionic Blast, does it work?

o Yes. Psionic Blast affects your opponent, not yourself.

While using “Immunity”, can the Warrior use two weapons against me?

o Yes. That ability does not directly affect you, rather the Warrior.
While using “Immunity”, can the Assassin assassinate me?

o No. Since assassination directly affects your ability to fight, you are immune.
While using “Slime Coating”, do | have to take my opponent’s weapon, even if | don’t
want it?

o Yes. If you cannot carry it, it gets ditched.



e [fl enter the Valley of Fire with the Talisman Sigil, and | have a real Talisman, do | still
lose 1 life?
o No. You’d only lose life if you only had the Talisman Sigil.
e [fanother character attacks me while | have “Thorns”, does it affect them?
o Yes. Thorns doesn't care who starts the battle.

Art Credits:

Weapon Enchantments:
These Sigils were all found on Pintrest. | can’t be certain of how original these works are, as I'm

pretty sure many are reuploads from elsewhere. | will be linking the collections | found them in
though.
https://www.pinterest.com/nhienha261/pathways/

https://www.pinterest.com/nhienha261/prayer/
https://www.pinterest.com/androwrites18/ created/

https://www.pinterest.com/pin/810648001686916168/
https://www.pinterest.com/pin/1092685928319781816/

Armour Enchantments:

The magic circles used were mostly found on Pintrest, but were often edited with added
backgrounds and color adjustments.

Camouflage: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/2918192508704 32920/

Sun Sigil: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/291819250870439812/

Spell Forge: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/2918192508704 37196/

Moon Sigil: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/291819250870439810/
Lightweight: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/291819250870420136/

Psychic Link: hitps://www.pinterest.com/pin/291819250870431908/
Boreal Sigil: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/2918192508704 19594/
Transmutation: hitps://www.pinterest.com/pin/29181925087041
Zen sigil: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/320037117280590054/
Stygian sigil: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/543317142

Bewitched: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/727120302356838575/
Empowered: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/727120302356838113/

Diamondized: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/41587996553253590/
Divine sigil: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/36943659437088062/

Invoke fate: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/344525440234881938/
Thorns: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/351912462908143/

Some images | failed to save, and will be added in a later version if found again.

Card Backs:
Both decks use the same card back, but the Weapons deck was modified with a different
symbol.

e https://www.deviantart.com/gameliberty/art/Fantasy-Card-Back-2-664861642
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